bestbackgroundremover.org

What to Check Before You Upload a Photo to a Background Remover

A checklist before you upload to an AI background remover: file limits, preview size, credit expiry, license wording, shutdown notices and where the file is processed.

Published 2026-10-16 bestbackgroundremover.org Editorial team Fields read 2026-10-16

A background remover makes one decision for you in a single click: which pixels belong to the subject. Background removal, in this checklist, separates the main subject from its backdrop. Most problems start before the upload, in the file, the plan and the terms. This checklist uses the same fields as the bestbackgroundremover.org list, so each step points to a published number you can check yourself.

1. Check the file format and size

Every tool sets its own limits. Slazzer accepts JPG, JPEG and PNG files up to 12 MB and 25 megapixels (Slazzer pricing). Adobe’s free background-removal page accepts JPEG, PNG and WEBP up to 50 MB (Adobe). Canva accepts JPG, PNG, HEIC and HEIF (Canva). A file that a tool rejects will waste your time, so check the list before you prepare a batch.

2. Check the free preview size

A free preview is a way to test the edges before you pay. Slazzer caps its free previews at 0.25 megapixels, which its FAQ gives as 625 by 400 pixels, and it says those previews are free only on its website. A preview at that size shows whether the mask is roughly right. It does not show how the full file will look at print size.

On the other side of the list, remove.bg’s pricing page read on the same date does not state a preview size, so the method scores zero there. The absence of a number is a reason to test the tool yourself with a file you care about.

3. Check when your credits expire

Credit expiry changes what a purchase is worth. remove.bg’s pay-as-you-go credits expire on 1 December 2026 at 9:00 AM CET, the same date as its notice about the standalone website (remove.bg). withoutBG gives new accounts 50 credits valid for 30 days, and its one-time packs carry validity periods that run from 30 days to 360 days as displayed (withoutBG). Slazzer says top-up credits can be used within two years of purchase (Slazzer).

Write the expiry date next to the purchase. A pack that expires before your project ends is a cost, even when the unit price looks low.

4. Read the license wording for your plan

Two products in our list state commercial use on the pricing pages read on 2026-10-16. Pixelcut lists a commercial license from its Pro plan, and Slazzer allows commercial use with a top-up or a subscription of at least 300 credits. Neither statement applies to the free tier. The other products in the list state nothing on those pages, and the method scores that as zero.

Models carry their own terms. The rembg README says its default model, bria-rmbg (RMBG-2.0), has a BRIA license that requires a paid agreement for commercial use, even though rembg itself is MIT-licensed (rembg). If you run an open-source model in a product, read the model license as well as the tool license.

5. Check for shutdown and migration notices

A product can change or close between the day you read a review and the day you pay. remove.bg’s pricing page carries a notice that its standalone website will no longer be available from 1 December 2026, with background removal moving to Canva. Open the vendor’s own pricing or help page at the moment of purchase, not a summary written in an earlier year.

6. Know where the file is processed

A cloud service uploads your file to the vendor’s servers. The rembg README says this directly for its withoutBG and Atlas Cloud backends, where images are sent to the provider. withoutBG’s pricing page also says the product can be called as an API or run on your own hardware. rembg itself runs on your own machine. If your photos contain people, read the vendor’s privacy policy for how long uploads are kept, and do not assume a tool keeps nothing.

7. Confirm you have the right to edit the image

A background remover does not give you rights to a photo. Upload only images you own or are licensed to edit. The tool’s license covers the output of the tool, not the source image.

8. Test three hard images before you buy

No score on this site measures edge quality, and this edition ran no image test. Hair, glass, fur and fine detail are where tools differ most, so use your own files for the test. Pick three of your hardest images and run them on the free allowance or the free preview. Compare the edges at the final output size.

Stated limits at a glance

The table puts the limits from each vendor’s page, read on 2026-10-16, in one place. Each row is that vendor’s own statement.

Product File types and size Free allowance Validity or expiry Free preview
Slazzer (pricing) JPG, JPEG, PNG; up to 12 MB and 25 MP 2 free credits Top-up credits usable within two years Up to 0.25 MP, on its website
Adobe Firefly (page) JPEG, PNG, WEBP; up to 50 MB Free background removal; free daily generations, no number stated Not stated Not stated
Canva (feature page) JPG, PNG, HEIC, HEIF Up to 20 Standard or Premium AI uses; not stated for background removal Not stated Not stated
withoutBG (pricing) Not stated 50 credits for new accounts 30 days Not stated
Clipdrop (pricing) Not stated 20 uses per 24 hours Not stated Not stated
remove.bg (pricing) Not stated 1 trial credit Pay-as-you-go credits expire 1 December 2026, 9:00 AM CET Not stated
Photoroom (pricing) Not stated Free trial; no number stated Not stated Not stated
Pixelcut (pricing) Not stated Limited background removal; free export without watermark Not stated Not stated

“Not stated” means the page read on 2026-10-16 does not give the field. It does not mean the tool lacks it, and the method scores such a field as zero.

Summary checklist

Evidence and method

Each stated number comes from a vendor page read on 2026-10-16 or from the rembg README, and the links above point to those sources. For the scope rule that separates background removal from photo editing, see Background remover vs photo editor. Scoring is set out in full on the method page. This checklist is not a test of output quality, and no claim in it should be read as a result of image testing.

FAQ

Do I need a paid plan to remove backgrounds?

Not always, but check the free allowance first. Clipdrop lists 20 uses per 24 hours, withoutBG gives 50 credits valid for 30 days, and remove.bg lists a trial credit. A free allowance usually covers a test, not a batch.

What file types do most tools accept?

The vendor pages read on 2026-10-16 list different formats. Adobe Firefly accepts JPEG, PNG and WEBP up to 50 MB. Slazzer accepts JPG, JPEG and PNG up to 12 MB and 25 MP. Canva lists JPG, PNG, HEIC and HEIF. Check the list before you batch.

Can I use a cutout commercially?

Only if the tool's terms say so for the plan you buy. Of the ten products in our list, two state commercial use on the pages read on 2026-10-16, and both attach it to a paid tier. Most state nothing. Read the terms for your plan.

Read the method · Back to the list · All versus posts and guides

↑